• Bridgewater Foliage
  • Woolen Mill

    Woolen Mill

  • Bridgewater Village
  • 250th Celebration

    2011 town wide group photo at the 250th celebration

  • Winter in Bridgewater Village

    Bridgewater winter

  • West Bridgewater

    West Bridgewater - Covered bridge

Bridgewater Historical Society preserves the exciting history of Bridgewater, Vermont and its many hamlets. Explore our extensive collection of artifacts, maps, photographs and data on area gold mines, mills, civil war and much more. We are located in one of Vermont’s oldest schoolhouses.

Brick School House
This two-story brick schoolhouse was built in 1803. In 1840, a bell tower and second story were added, creating a large room with a unique vaulted ceiling. The ground floor has a fireproof concrete vault, as the town office was housed here at one time. After the new village school was built in 1914, the building served various uses including living quarters, barbershop and a community center.

The Bridgewater Historical Society’s first public program hosted Howard Coffin, a well-known author and Civil War historian. A closing comment was made that in August 1854 the townspeople met at this very same building to “favor the repeal of the Fugitive Slave Act (Law)” The saving of the schoolhouse not only marks that event, but also honors the soldiers from Bridgewater who served in the Civil War, and subsequent wars.

Visit Us
Bridgewater Historical Society